When my momma heart needs reminding

Aydin and Calyn have now finished up with their extra-curricular activities here in Graham. Aydin is done with soccer and piano lessons and Calyn is done with her dance class. I wish I could say I didn’t shed a tear but the truth is it hurts my momma heart to know they are done doing some of these things they love doing… and honestly that I love watching them do. I know Aydin will continue to play soccer wherever and we can continue learning musical instruments through the internet or something and Calyn will always be dancing throughout our house…. but its just different.

This past week the kids have been taking swim lessons to learn to do the different strokes and Aydin’s instructor came and said that he should be on the swim team. He was so proud, calling everyone to let them know his instructor  thought that he was good enough to join the swim team, which is actually just participating in a swim team camp at the end of summer. Of course it is after we move to Missouri so he wont be able to participate in it. Its so silly but I caught myself tearing up at what he is going to miss out on… pursuing those things that he is good at and enjoys…

and then the Lord gently reminded me that that’s not our purpose on this earth. I feel the Lord wrapping His arms around me reminding me of His love and goodness. He has called our family to overseas missions and there’s nothing I would rather do but when it comes to the kids it makes me a little sad to think of the things they wont get to do. I’m then reminded of all the experiences they will get that other kids would love to get to do and wont.

This specific incidence is what led me to write about it because the Lord is so good. He has been molding and preparing my kids and I continue to pray and request prayer that they will continue to have a heart for others. They get it! They get that they won’t get to do all these things they have been doing and its all for Him. They are understanding and excited for whats to come. They willingly trade these earthly joys for the joy to come of sharing the love of Christ with those who have no access. These people are worth it. The Lord Jesus Christ is worth it.

so while I’m tearing up at the thought of Aydin not getting to do the swim team camp, hes just thrilled that the instructor thought he should be in it.

“So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.” 1 Corinthians 10:31

As believers, our purpose on this earth is to bring God glory. Of course He can be glorified through all events and kids pursuing their passions and gifts He has given them… but for us it means being obedient to the burden He has placed on our hearts for unreached people groups. And that means seeing our kids not pursuing their gifts in team sports, lessons, or performances.. but trusting the Lord to continue to give them a heart for Him and the nations…molding and changing all of us for the purpose He has. I pray that He will bring to light the gifts He has given them and avenues to pursue those for Him.

“Serve the Lord with gladness!Come into his presence with singing! Know that the Lord, he is God! It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.” Psalm 100:2-3

Thank you for your continued prayers as we transition from Loving Texas and prepare to move to the Training Center in exactly 2 months. We are anxious to get this next step underway!

Leave a Reply

